Archiving ensures you can you can remove data from your working view, without deleting it completely. It applies to projects, notebook entries, and inventory items and lets you:
- Continue to remove items from working view
- Easily search and recover any archived data
- Retain complete history of your team's work
However, you also have the option to permanently delete an archived item should it no longer be needed. Once a file is deleted, it is not recoverable.
This article will review how you can archive and delete files on Benchling and provide answers to some of the most commonly asked questions regarding archiving/deleting.
For Academic or Personal plan users, note that archived data does not count towards your storage limit.
How to archive data
- You can archive any project, notebook entry, or inventory file by right-clicking on the item. A menu that includes an option to Archive will appear.
- When you select Archive, you'll be prompted to provide the reason why the item is archived. This information can be viewed by you and your teammates so your team can retain context on why the item was archived. It is always a great tool to use in order to differentiate between files you plan to archive and those that you plan to delete.
- Once you confirm the archive, the file will now be hidden from working view.
How to retrieve archived data
- To retrieve an archived item, navigate to the Project Folder the item was archived in, click on the gear button under the project header, then select Display archived items.
- When you hover your cursor above Display Archived Items you will be able to toggle the view of Not archived and Archived data sorted by archive reason. In the example below, you'll see that view of Not archived data is toggled off and view of Archived data for all reasons is toggled on.
- Since archived data live within the project folder it's archived in, no file context is lost. If you click on the archived file itself, you will be able to access the file with read-only access.
- You can also retrieve all your archived data across different projects via search.
How to restore archived data
- To unarchive or restore the archived file, simply right click on the file and select Unarchive. Once a file is unarchived, it will be once again accessible in working view and can be edited by users who have write access to the project that the file belongs to.
How to permanently delete data
In benchling.com, any archived item can be permanently deleted. To do so, just navigate to the archived item you would like to delete. Note: any archived item, whether marked 'Archived' or 'Trash', can be deleted.
Right-click, and select 'Delete' to permanently delete your file. Once your file is deleted, it will no longer be accessible nor recoverable by the Benchling team.