You can edit existing schemas and fields if items have not been created or recorded on the schema. This article explains:

  • Adding fields to existing schemas

  • Editing a field’s data type

  • Reordering schema fields

  • Archiving schema fields

To add Lookup columns to a table, visit Lookup columns and tables.

Add fields to an existing schema

To add fields to an existing schema:

  1. Click your avatar in the bottom-left corner of your tenant.

  2. In Feature Settings, select the application containing your desired schema (i.e, Registry settings, Result schemas, Run schemas, etc).

  3. Click the schema you need to edit.

  4. Click the + icon in the top-left corner of the table.

  5. Enter your field information, then click the ✔ to save.

Note: If you are adding a new required field to a schema that has already been used to record data, you will need to create a new schema instead.

Edit a field’s data type

To edit the data type of a field:

  1. In the schema, hover over the field and click the pencil icon.

  2. In the Definitions column, select the data type.

  3. Click the ✔ to save.

Note: To rename a Result schema field, contact your Customer Success Manager.

Reorder table columns

You can reorder schema fields to help your team stay organized. To reorder the columns in a table, reorder the fields in the schema settings. To reorder table columns:

  1. In the schema, hover over the field(s) you need to move.

  2. Click and hold the perpendicular arrows that display to the left of the field, then drag the field into place.

Note: The row order on the Results Schemas page corresponds to the column order in its corresponding Result table. Only newly created Results tables reflect changes to the column order.

Archive a schema field

You can remove schema fields two ways:

  • Archiving removes a field from its schema.

  • Removing a field directly from the notebook, workflow entry, or template removes the field without archiving it in the schema.

  • Unarchiving allows for the reincorporation of a field into its previous schema.

To archive a schema field:

  1. Click your avatar in the bottom-left corner and select Feature Settings.

  2. In the left-side menu, click the schema type, then select the schema.

  3. Hover over the field, then click the Archive icon.

To unarchive a schema field:

  1. Click your avatar in the bottom-left corner and select Feature Settings.

  2. In the left-side menu, click the schema type, then select the schema.

  3. Select Show archived fields.

  4. Hover over the field, then click the Unarchive icon.

Related topics

Lookup columns and tables

Did this answer your question?