A dashboard is a collection of blocks containing SQL queries and visualizations you can view, filter, and edit depending on your permissions. Organizations use dashboards to visualize key scientific, operational, and administrative metrics. Use this article to:

Getting started

To access a dashboard or block, you must have Read, Write, or Admin permissions for the project the dashboard is associated with. To learn more about Insights access and permissions, visit Insights permissions overview.

Create and view a dashboard

To create and view a dashboard:

  1. Click the Chart icon in the left-side menu.

  2. Click the + icon at the top of the panel.

  3. In the pop-up window, enter the dashboard name, select its associated project, then click Create. Your available dashboards will display in the left-side panel.

  4. Click a dashboard name to open it. The dashboard will display to the right of the panel.

Tip: Click the > icon in the top-right corner of the panel to view more information about your dashboards.

View a block

Dashboards can display one or more blocks. Depending on your permissions, you can take the following actions using the icons in the top-right corner of a block:

Duplicate a dashboard or block

You can reuse SQL queries then make edits specific to your new query by duplicating dashboards. To duplicate a dashboard:

  1. Click the ellipses icon in the top-right corner of the dashboard or block you want to duplicate, then select Duplicate.

  2. [Dashboards only] Select the project you want to associate it with.

  3. Click Duplicate.

After duplicating a dashboard or block, it will automatically open in your display.

Rename a dashboard or block

To rename a dashboard or block:

  1. Hover over the dashboard or query name and click the pencil icon.

  2. Enter the new name, then click ✔.

Delete a dashboard or block

You may need to delete a dashboard or block because it was made in error or is no longer relevant. To delete a dashboard or block:

  1. Click the ellipses in the top-right corner of the dashboard or block you want to delete, then select Delete.

  2. In the pop-up window, click Delete to confirm you want to delete the dashboard or block.

Note: Deletion is permanent. Deleted dashboards and blocks cannot be recovered.

Related articles

Creating parameters

Insights permissions overview

Running Insights queries

Search for schemas to use in Insights queries

Visualizing your Insights data

Did this answer your question?